The Brixton riots 40 years on: What has changed for Black Britons?

March 29, 2021

Online Event
Refund Policy: No Refunds
£5.72 – £16.12
Tickets: eventbrite.co.uk

Wed, 31 Mar 2021, 19:00 BST

On the 40th anniversary of two pivotal events in Black British history, our panel will explore four decades of protest and resistance.

In early 1981 a house fire in New Cross, south London, killed 13 young Black people, but the police investigation seemed to overlook the possibility that the cause was a racist arson attack. The frustration at and anguish felt by many at the lack of response from the authorities led to the National Black People’s Day of Action – when, on 2 March, 20,000 people marched through London to demand justice.

A few miles away, in Brixton, the Metropolitan Police had enacted Operation Swamp 81, a massive campaign of stop and search on the local Black community. Using the notorious “sus” laws, they were able to arrest people for merely “acting suspiciously” in the officers’ view, and did not require any evidence of an offence being committed. Tensions between residents and the police, further fuelled by the lingering sense of injustice over the New Cross fire, came to a head in April and sparked the Brixton riots.

Four decades on, with the ripples of 2020’s Black Lives Matter marches still being felt, our chair, deputy opinion editor, Joseph Harker, with author and lecturer at Manchester Metropolitan University, Alex Wheatle, 1980s Lambeth council leader Linda Bellos, and co-founder All Black Lives UK, Natasha Johnson will be marking the anniversary of a moment of fundamental change for Black protest, exploring its evolution through the past 40 years to today and ask, what next in the struggle for equality?

Running time: 75 minutes

This event will be hosted on a third-party live streaming platform BlueJeans, please refer to their privacy policy before purchasing a ticket to the event. After registering, please refer to your confirmation email for access to the event. 

If you require closed captions to be available on this event notify us on your booking form when making your purchase.

This event is being streamed globally.

7pm BST | 8pm CEST | 11am PDT | 2pm EDT

Or see this time zone converter to check your local live streaming time.

Recent posts
CARIBBEAN HISTORIES REVEALED: 20TH CENTURY TRANSITIONS (NATIONAL ARCHIVES, UK)
At the time that this picture was taken, Antigua was under British Colonial rule. Its very existence proves that the British were content to let their subjects live in abject squalor, document it and send it back for filing.
MENELIK SHABAZZ JOINS THE ANCESTORS
Today we received the news that Director Menelik Shabazz had transitioned to become an ancestor while filming his latest movie, The Spirits Return, in Zimbabwe on 28 June 2021.

    Leave a comment